top of page
  • Writer's pictureRebecca Van Duker

Writing with Props

5/17/2022

For years I had a large storage tote full of costumes and props in the back of my classroom closet. I was never without a special costume or outfit on spirit days, but utilizing the resources inside that bin only a few times of year made me question if I should be using the closet space for a resource that would be utilized more frequently. Classroom storage is precious real-estate after all, and each year I seemed to have less to spare. I decided if I was going to keep my bin full of costumes and props, I needed to find other ways to use them.


One of my favorite writing activities I came up with that used the costumes and props I had stored in the back of my closet is simply called 'Writing with Props'. One day I decided to put a 'themed' hat in the center of each table group while students were at recess. I put a 'Writing with Props Brainstorming' page on each desk and waited for students to return to class. I then asked students to work in groups and use the hat for inspiration to determine a character, setting and plot for a creative narrative (creativity, collaboration, communication).

Students were asked to write 3 sentences about each story element. Then, groups presented their story elements to the class (communication). Each member of the group held the hat while presenting either the character, setting or plot. After presentations were over, students individually wrote creative narratives using their brainstorming page. Later they read their narratives aloud to their small groups and had discussions about the small and large differences in their stories. Students always found it fascinating how different their stories were even after they began with the same story element brainstorm.



On average I repeated this activity about once a month. I worked to keep the bones of the routine enact, but I found a variety of ways to make small tweaks that kept students engaged. Below are a few ways I adjusted this activity throughout the year.

- I typically start with props or costume pieces that are 'simple'. For example; a cowboy hat is a simple costume piece that allows students to quickly and easily identify a character, setting and plot. Then over time, I begin adding more obscure items like a 'vintage makeup mirror', that can inspire very different stories and challenge students to be a little more creative.

- I have put props into a large pillowcase and had one representative from each table group draw a prop from the bag so they are distributed by chance. This adds a little excitement to the activity with fate playing a role.

- I put one prop in the center of each table group, but I have students brainstorm independently, then present their story elements to their small group instead of to the entire class.

- I put two props on each table, one belongs to the antagonist, one to the protagonist. Students must write about both characters during their brainstorm.

- I put a prop in the center of the table and have students identify five questions they have that are related to the prop. Then I have students conduct research to answer all five of their questions if they need practice citing sources, or I have them do deep research on one of their questions and write a nonfiction article on the topic.

- I display all of the props and costume pieces and allow students to choose one they are most interested in using for inspiration.

- I have students work on the 'Writing with Props Brainstorm' page with their group at their table for 5 minutes before having them rotate to another table. They then need to decide what implications the prop at their new table has on their character, setting and plot (critical thinking). This could include a new character being introduced to the story, the setting of the story changing, etc.


12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page